In 1976, the old municipalities of Saint-Rémy, Housse, Saive, Barchon, Trembleur and Mortier merged to form the municipality of Blegny.
Its lands have often been partitioned among multiple sovereigns and have seen numerous armies march through.
In 1914, the Fort de Barchon forestalled the German invaders, buying enough time for the French army to regroup and thus save Paris. Thanks to this heroic deed, Liège was awarded the illustrious Legion of Honour on behalf of all the towns and cities in the province.
Today, the 13,000 people who call Blegny home contribute to the growth of many professional activities (from farming and industry to services), non-profit organisations, sports clubs and cultural associations.
Our heritage boasts numerous gems, such as Blegny-Mine, a UNESCO World Heritage site.
Blegny has always been a land of cycling. It was the cradle of champions such as Jean Rossius, Raymond Impanis, Pierre Nihant and, of course, Joseph Bruyère, a winner of the Old Lady who wore the yellow jersey and served as Eddy Merckx's loyal domestique.
Mayor Marc Bolland is proud that Blegny is home to the Pesant Club liégeois and hosts numerous races, such as the Grand Prix de Wallonie (men's and women's), the Tour de la Basse-Meuse, the Tour de la Province de Liège and the U23 Liège–Bastogne–Liège, not to mention MTB, cyclo-cross and BMX events. The Flèche Wallonne's start from Blegny-Mine is a big accolade and a wonderful gift.

blegny.be
blegnymine.be

© SIMON SCHMITT GLOBALVIEW